In The Air

– 2 May –

Although we had planned to stay in one place for a whole week, we knew that we couldn’t just hang around in the campground the whole time. That’s why we chose an RV park that was close to Six Flags New England… it provided us with the perfect day out!

Welcome to Six Flags New England

Welcome to Six Flags New England

Six Flags was the ideal choice mainly because we could make use of our season ticket, which we bought during our last visit in San Francisco way back at the start of November. Funny, in many ways that feels like only yesterday.

Katie, the number one Adrenaline Junkie of the family

Katie, the number one adrenaline junkie of the family

Our day there was brilliant. We took advantage of the home/road-schoolers’ privilege and went mid-week, so the park was mostly empty. There were a few school groups around – it’s the season for end-of-year field trips – but despite this there were no queues to speak of for any ride. Being able to enjoy our fill of rides and roller coasters was terrific, although even I started to feel queasy after a while! It was so quiet that we achieved a notable first, by riding in the front seats of three different roller coasters in a row, and each one was brand new (to us)! I’ve never done THAT before. It’s especially hair-raising on the Bizarro – the first drop is so high and so steep that it felt like we were falling beyond the vertical!

Daffy, with man in a duck suit

Daffy, with man in a duck suit

Going back to Six Flags was especially nice for Jess; she was able to take full advantage of all of the growing that she has done since we got to America, which has pushed her past the four-foot tall mark. This milestone opens up many more rides for her to enjoy! She is definitely following in her sister’s (and Dad’s) footsteps by becoming an adrenaline junkie!

Jessica also embraced the super-hero theme by buying a Super-girl cape, with her own money.  We left the park to the sound of her running around the place shouting “I’m Super-Jess!!”

It's SUPERJESS!

Is it a bird?… Is it a plane?… No, it’s SUPER-JESS!

Dashing off to fight crime

Dashing off to fight crime

Katie rode on every coaster in the park, so she is in the position to provide some solid recommendations. We therefore present Katie’s Top Rides at Six Flags New England, in her own words:

1. Bizarro
Why? Because it was so quick – 72 miles an hour! – and there were lots of big drops.

2. Cyclone
Why? Even though it was old and rickety, it was a fast coaster and the rattling and shaking gave it a scary twist.

Cyclone - an old skool coaster

Cyclone – an old skool coaster

3. Goliath
Why? It went slowly backwards at first, pulling us up into the air, facing straight down. Then it shot us forward into loops and twists and up into the air. We then did the same thing backwards and slammed on the brakes pulling us into a complete stop. It was awesome.

Listen to her – she’s fast becoming a roller coaster expert!

– Keith

2 thoughts on “In The Air

  1. John, Carl (my husband) and I went on a Goliath with Ben last summer. I love coasters, but hadn’t been on any for a while. It was slightly disconcerting to realize that Carl and I were at least 20 years older than everyone else strapped in the seats. I actually shut my eyes halfway through the ride and contemplated my elderly status. At the midpoint, as we were poised to begin the second, backward vertical plunge, I was horrified to realize that my vision was gone…everything was a milky white haze. Had I detached my retinas? Was my optic nerve destroyed? Was I DYING? I hung my aged, elderly head in despair. And saw my lap.
    Apparently I had been looking straight up into the very overcast sky, and my vision was cloudy because I was looking at clouds. Whew!
    I finished the ride laughing hysterically, and enjoyed the rest of the day and many more coasters. Can’t wait to go again this summer!

    • Hi Karen!

      What a fantastic story – thank you so much for that! I once rode a coaster in the U.K. after dark, and when we went high into the air I could look around and see all the stars and the moon – that was pretty neat, but cloud-induced blindness probably tops it!

      Have fun on your next trip to Six Flags! In my opinion, you are NEVER too old for a few loops and corkscrews.

      – Keith

Leave a comment